Teacher School

This week I am away at teacher school. This August I will embark on a new journey–being a high school business teacher. I graduated from college in May and originally had no intentions of being an educator. This position came up by way of acquaintance, and I was so excited about the opportunity. I mean really excited. So I interviewed and got the job. Wahoo!

But I don’t have a teaching certificate. So, the girl who couldn’t wait to graduate from college and vowed to never step foot in a classroom again is back at it. I get to spend the next four days with people just like me–uncertified, but working on it :).  I am working on completing my Master’s of Science in Education (cool, huh?). I also get to stay at my brother’s bachelor pad since I will be taking classes at my Alma mater, Fort Hays State University, where he currently goes to school. The plus side to this is that he has a monster TV. The negative, I will be forced to either eat out at every meal or buy an awkward amount of groceries to tide me over for the next few days. I am trying to devise a meal plan for the next few days, but I will most definitely be hitting up my favorite places to eat in one of my most favorite towns–imagine cheap tacos, bar food, and sushi (yep, we have sushi in the middle of nowhere).

Another plus is that I get to workout in our fancy wellness center on campus. Being back home has limited my access to the gym. We have a small and pretty awesome rec center for the size of our town, but the wellness center on campus has much more variety. I also plan on doing some Crossfit workouts at home.  My favorite blogs for at home CF workouts are Blonde Ponytailand CaliFit Mamas. I will let you know what workouts I do this week in my next post.

The Crossfit Games were this past week and let me tell you, I am inspired as always. This is dorky, but if I ever need some motivation I look up the Games footage on YouTube. The athletes are the definition of hard work and beast-mode. Though I am not that awesome, I try to use their extreme fitness and hard work to motivate myself to push through a tough workout.

Leave a comment