Here’s to new things!

In some areas of life, namely eating and working out, I (Whitney) like to change it up. I will start with my workout from last week that I’m still feeling. You know those times when you feel ultra ambitious then pay for it for days? Yup. Emily recently told me of a blog called The Blonde Ponytail. This lady is super fit and has hundreds of workout links complete with videos and descriptions. She breaks down Crossfit and makes it easy to understand. I tackled her Get Strong & Lean Home workout.  5 rounds of 20 sec with a 10 sec rest of the following:

1. DB swings
2. Push-ups with toe tap
3. Single arm reverse lunges
4. Skull crushers in bridge pose

The problem arose when I jumped over to Califit Mamas for another Crossfit routine. If you have never heard of a knee-to-elbow, you should look it up then realize why I was crying. I completed 7 rounds of 5 k-2-e alternating with 15 dumbbell swings in my workout room. Too. Many. Dumbbell. Swings. Next came my biggest error. 7 rounds of 10 weighted ball throws. Never have my pecs every hurt so intensely. I alternated those with 20 jump ropes. It may have only taken 25 minutes for both workouts combined, but Luke can vouch that I was breathing like an asthmatic. Try it. I dare you.

Now for the food,

One of my most recent quests is to make a delicious homemade pizza. I told my husband that my future children will enjoy “pizza Fridays”. The problem is, living in the middle of nowhere, you don’t have hundreds of pizza shops to choose from. With this in mind, I’ve determined I need to learn how to make my own. It has started rough, to say the least. Image

Above is my first attempt. I felt clever attempting to make my husband’s favorite stuffed crust variety. Unfortunately, I followed the crust package directions and toasted it before adding the cheese. Wrong. As far as taste, it was ok. Not the best, so my quest continues. Image

Attempt two was better! I still used the pre-made crust, though my next try will hopefully be homemade. I also used fresh mozzarella and yummy, giant pepperoni. If you have any tricks or recipes for what you do with your homemade pizza, I would love suggestions!! I will be sure to add it to a future post giving you credit!

Leave a comment